The Friday 5

The Friday 5

Your Weekly Film Update By Film Critic and Historian Jack Hanley

I. Release I Am Loving This Week

I've been evangelizing Brickman's deliciously sly and subversive critique of capitalism and materialism and the "Reagan-era suburbs" for the longest time...and I'm thrilled that modern critical reevaluation has seemed to concur. And did I mention that synth score by Tangerine Dream?!? Revisit this masterwork as soon as you can- a SPLENDID addition to the Criterion Collection!

See ALL the new July Titles by clicking HERE!

II. Podcast Episode I Am Loving This Week

You may THINK you know Josephine Baker: provocateur, activist, chorus girl, burlesque dancer, opera singer, world-famous movie star...and hero-spy of WWII?

I was blown away by this amazing short tale of one of our most important (and sadly little known) American heroes in perhaps her finest and most important role as an undercover agent. Check out this astonishing story on the brilliant podcast AARON MAHNKE'S CABINET OF CURIOSITIES. Click here to listen!

III. Announcement I Am Loving This Week

The 77th Cannes Film Festival has announced their competition lineup- and it is a cinephile's DREAM featuring new films by legendary auteurs Ali ABBASI, Quentin DUPIEUX, Andrea ARNOLD, Sean BAKER, Jacques AUDIARD, Francis Ford COPPOLA, David CRONENBERG, Paul SCHRADER, Ariane LABED, Leos CARAX, AND Yórgos LÁNTHIMOS in perhaps the most anticipated lineup in recent memory. Click here to see the entire festival lineup!

IV. Film Tweet Issue I Am Passionate About This Week

MONKEY MAN is fantastic. More on that to come!

V. Second Podcast Episode I Am Loving This Week

You might have noticed that I am loving MONKEY MAN this week, and I have been going down a rabbit hole of all things DEV PATEL. He recently joined the podcast "Talk Easy With Sam Fragoso" to discuss MONKEY MAN, his directorial debut and most personal project to date.

Check out the episode HERE!

That's all for this week. See you all next Friday! And LONG LIVE CINEMA.

Jack Hanley is a Boulder-based critic, programmer, and cinephile. He is one-half of Blindspotting: A Film Discovery Podcast and FLICKER with Jack and Scott. Find him at HanleyOnFilm.com

Jack Hanley

Jack Hanley

Boulder, CO