The Friday 5

The Friday 5

Your Weekly Film Update By Film Critic and Historian Jack Hanley

I. Film I Am Loving This Week

While TERRIBLY late coming to this poetic slow-cinema masterwork, I simply cannot stop smiling at PERFECT DAYS by the legendary Wim Wenders. A PERFECT companion-piece to FALLEN LEAVES (and its Chaplinesque social-humanist idealism) this official Academy entry from Japan features Wenders at his most nostalgic- and the great Kôji Yakusho at his most sublime. It is rare that a film can literally change your life- I submit that this Zen mediation on purpose, idealism, and the human experience CAN.

In theaters now, and for rent on Apple TV+

II. Passing I Am Mourning This Week

I am still recovering from the recent passing of the great Film Scholar/Historian David Bordwell- a cinephile who perhaps did more than anyone to advance Film Studies as an academic pursuit. He was a personal hero to me (and so many in this field). My friend and critic Matt Zoller Seitz composed a loving tribute to our eternal mentor for RogerEbert.com. PLEASE READ IT HERE. Goodnight, Sir.

III. Podcast Episode I Am Loving This Week

My great friend, collaborator, and special guest at my recent How To Watch A Movie course Zach Eastman (joined by the brilliant Rashmi Menon) dropped perhaps the BEST discussion on the Japanese classic horror anthology KWAIDAN (1964) that I have ever had the pleasure to listen to. Click the link below to have your mind blown...you will never look at Masaki Kobayashi's work the same. I still cannot get over how great this episode was!

CLICK HERE TO LISTEN AT YESTERYEAR BALLYHOO REVUE

IV. Video Essay I Am Loving This Week

Watch. Learn. Love.

V. Throwback Interview I Am Loving This Week

Reminded this week of the anniversary of my fascinating interview with Cleveland freelance writer and film/music historian Matthew Chojnacki to talk about his groundbreaking work of 2013, Alternative Movie Posters: Film Art From the Underground.

As noted in the preview, “…Alternative Movie Posters: Film Art from the Underground is the first book to take a comprehensive look at the spectacular art of underground film posters, and presents this eclectic medium through more than 200 posters from over 100 groundbreaking artists (hailing from 20 countries), coupled with fascinating commentary and behind-the-scenes information.”

Check Out The Interview Via Kinophilia HERE!

Glad to be back from vacation- hope to see you all soon out there in the Dark!

LONG LIVE CINEMA!

Jack Hanley is a Boulder-based critic, programmer, and cinephile. He is one-half of Blindspotting: A Film Discovery Podcast and FLICKER with Jack and Scott. Find him at HanleyOnFilm.com

Jack Hanley

Jack Hanley

Boulder, CO